top of page
Search
  • darren-hogan

EV6 Battery Issue Update

Such a good looking car.....

this isn't my one obviously as mine is miles away with Kia UK -anyhow....


Our EV6 has now been with Kia UK for nearly four weeks with no update from either the dealer or Kia UK despite me chasing.


So today I messaged Kia UK via Facebook messenger to ask for any form of update, whether the problem has been diagnosed or not.


And to my surprise I got this back:


The following parts are on emergency order and are expected to arrive with the dealer in about a week:

  • BOLT & WASHER ASSY 37535GI050 x8

  • BOLT & WASHER ASSY 37535GI500 x18

  • GASKET ASSY X1

  • BATTERY MODULE ASSY TYPE C375J3GI000 X 1


Our team will continue checking the status to ensure this is scheduled for repair as soon as possible.


So it sounds like they have diagnosed a battery module failure and have ordered a replacement and associated fitting parts needed. Looking online the RRP of the parts needed is around $2000.


Points for concern in the message above are the words "expected to arrive" and "with the dealer in about a week" . The dealers gave me the impression that they weren't allowed to work on the battery which is why it went to Kia UK in the first place, so hoping the parts arrive and are fitted at Kia UK. Rather than parts go to dealer and then the car is shipped back. AND that they do any outstanding recalls (such as remote heating) at the same time as they promised.


Although its good to get confirmation finally, "in about a week" concerns me. And its a poor show from Kia and their dealerships that they are not informing customers on whats going on. I know about the global shortages of parts and associated delays but if they would for once contact me and update me rather than me chasing them every week without reply then the situation would be better. This is our second Kia, our first was a 2016 sportage diesel and we never had an issue so never went near Kia or the dealership network. I have to say that all the experience so far has been poor on both fronts.


E-Niro


Luckily we have the e-Niro as a loaner which continues to be a good stand in, its an extremely competent EV but just looks a bit DULL (sorry Niro owners), especially compared to the EV6. The new 2022 one looks better , as a car (and EV) it works really well for us as a family. But the top range price of a specced e-Niro is close to that of a bottom range EV6. I would go for the looks of the EV6 over it (depending how I get on with the return and ownership of our one). The existing Niro platform seems a very stable tested and sorted package, so far the Ev6 does not (for me anyway).


A full charge last night gave an indicated range of 256 miles which is better than we ever had with the EV6. We have had no weird gremlins or issues with the car at all. Yesterday I took a journey that involved a lot of B-road driving and I have to say it was really fun to drive around the twists and turns, handled really well. It s a fun car to drive.


SO lets see if the parts arrive and get fitted and when we will see our lovely black GT Line RWD EV6 back on the driveway.

209 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page