top of page
Search
  • darren-hogan

Gremlins - The New batch


Hi,


We live in a digital age, and never before have I owned a vehicle with so much tech, or a vehicle that's such a cutting edge new platform. Being an early adopter I guess we are bound to be the ones who experience issues that I'm sure will get ironed out for those slightly later to the party.


Overall I'm really impressed with the EV6, its such a nice car to drive and will current oil prices sky rocketing its nice to be smugly annoying when others are stressing about the rising costs of fossil fuel.


Although the issues we are having are not too serious I do find my self making excuses and being more patient than I would in normal circumstances with a new car. We also own a 12 year old Mercedes E-class , and if that had decided randomly to switch from Miles to Kilometres then I'm sure it would be dragged off to the garage with its tail between its legs to get sorted. The concern I have is that if I book it in with Kia nothing will get sorted as effectively they are software bugs not mechanical issues - so wouldn't get resolved (as we had with the remote heating issue - the car was there for a day but the issues wasn't resolved).


So weird issues continue:


Apple Car Play - pausing music sometimes causes the whole thing to lock up and you cant select anything.


Reversing Camera - sometimes when moving out of reverse and into drive the camera stays on for quote a while before switching off - this is a new issue and wasn't happening before.


Switching units from Miles to Kilometres - This is annoying and its done it a few times in the last few weeks. The car randomly switches to Kilometres, the display, speed and battery range all switch over. Apart from being annoying frantically trying to figure out what 40 MPH was in KMH when passing a speed camera isn't good. In my analogue Mercedes both are shown on the analogue speedo so at least you can decipher quickly.


D.I.V.O.R.C.E


So the car decided that it didn't like either me or my wife this week and removed both of our driver profiles from the car! Maybe its been reading this blog???



Apart from tones of HAL9000 from Space Odyssey ( I cant let you do that Darren) this has been really frustrating.


I had to remove the car from the Kia Connect app and re-set it up. Which took a few attempts as the Kia Connect app is REALLY REALLY CRAP. Although some features are now working its still showing the status of us as "Registering.... Please Wait" under driver profiles after 11 hours and doesn't look like its going to change. Until this is done we cant set some additional profile settings.




Charge/Range - Having had discussions on a few forums its looking like the 328 mile potential range will equate to 230 miles on a full charge in the winter and 280+ mile range in the warmer months if conditions are good. Although we never fully expected and need that 328 mile range its something that potential EV buyers need to take into account. Interested to hear from other EV owners on that one.


Remote Heating still not working. Also in relation to the HVAC system, When you press the "Screen demist" button in enables air con. All cars I have ever owned have done this, but in other cars I am able to turn off the air-con and keep hot air blowing on the screen. In the EV6 turning off the air-con also turns off the main screen demist - something my wife pointed out the other day.


Boot/tailgate - the non electric tailgate rises really fast at the beginning but slows down at exactly head height and has caused an issue a few times where people have banged their head on it expecting it to be fully open.


Thats it for now. As I type this I am downloading the Feb update for update.kia.com and will install it to see if it stops some of these annoying issues.


I know it sounds like I'm really moaning and on a downer about the EV6 but it is a great car. And if the annoying issues ever get too much then there is:

SPORT mode to bring the smile back :-)




88 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page